Rose Inn Series 2017: Race 1

  • May 10, 2017

Very fast, very flat and occasionally very pongy — it’s the Rose Inn Series 2017.

Video courtesy of @VikkiMC45. Photo courtesy of Paul Stillman.

The race attracted 292 runners, 38 of whom were representing the Green Army which is a sizeable percentage of the total runners. The same fixture last year only saw a single Green Vest competing and not enough entered over the entire series to even form a team. With the explosion in new members over recent months, this year is going to be completely the opposite.

For some it was their first taste of the popular Rose Inn Series and for others it was the first time that they had worn the green vest and represented the club.

The stunning weather throughout the day held out into the evening offering opportunities for some very fast times and maybe even a course record.

With its very long straights and flat terrain, there was a mixture of feelings over whether people liked or disliked the course but overall, everyone loved the experience of running with so many club members and competing against other clubs.

Many club members remained after finishing to soak up the post-race atmosphere, have a beer and burger and to wait for awards to be presented to those that had ran so well for PBB.


Lee Aherne21:25
Terry Watkins23:44
Lauren Cooper23:45
Stephen Williams24:47
Nicola Jukes25:21
Danielle Phillips25:57
Damian Caswell26:40
Mike Matthews26:40
Robert Gale26:51
Richard Sheehy27:01
Rachel Lewis27:11
James Thomas27:15
Sam Jackson27:22
Mike Williams29:05
Anthony Lewis29:05
Cyril Williams29:23
Kim Price30:17
Melissa Pearce30:18
Hayley Jackson30:36
Delphine Jones32:10
Wayne Caniff32:33
Beth Jones32:45
Laura Hire32:50
Marcus Smith32:54
Bobbie-Jo Swift33:06
Sian McGoldrick33:36
Gaynor Lewis34:40
Ceri Caswell35:16
Rhian White35:48
Kathryn Price35:54
Samantha George36:13
Sara Wilkinson36:18
Cerys Swift36:27
Alex Thomas36:29
Susan Gray38:11
Emily Smith38:21
Lee-Anne Taylor38:22
Caroline Matthews38:23

View Full Results | View Team Results | View Category Winners


Lee Aherne finished 9th overall and also took the age-group record for the MV50 category with a time of 21:25 smashing the previous record of 21:58. Lee now holds the age-group record in both the MV45 and MV50 categories.

The ladies also did us proud with Lauren Cooper, Nicola Jukes and Danielle Phillips taking home the award for 1st Ladies Team.

Other Notable Results

  • Stephen Williams (3rd MV55)
  • Beth Jones (1st Junior Ladies)
  • Cerys Swift (2nd Junior Ladies)
  • Kim Price (2nd FV35)
  • Rachel Burr-Lewis (1st FV40)
  • Nicola Jukes (1st FV45)
  • Melissa Pearce (3rd FV45)


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Photos Courtesy of Nigel Pearce

Next Race

The second race in the series is on Tuesday 13th June and you can pre-register here or enter on the day.


No Replies to "Rose Inn Series 2017: Race 1"

    Got something to say?

    Some html is OK